Month In Review: August 2017

Month In Review: August 2017

Hey friends! Today, I thought I would do try something a little different than the usual – a monthly wrap up. Which will not only be travel related but also include some personal bits and bobs! I think I’m going to start doing this monthly, especially since my wedding is coming up quick. It’ll just be a lot of fun to look back on all of these moments. I’ll organize this into three parts: Where I’ve Traveled, What I’ve Read, and Life Musings. Some months, all three of these parts will have a lot of content. And other months, they might not have as much content. That’s the beauty of it! Keep reading if you want to see my month in review for August!


Month In Review: August 2017


Where I’ve Traveled

Well, August has definitely been one of the best travel months for me. I crossed 4 countries off of my bucket list! My fiance, his family, and I spent two weeks traveling around Europe! Which I’m sure you know if you follow any of my social media – which you should, but especially Instagram. We visited London, Paris, Brussels, and Amsterdam.

I already have a couple blog posts about Paris up! One of them is the story of how we were trapped in the Eiffel Tower because of a potential terrorist attack. And no, that’s not click bait. That was the scariest moment of my life but thankfully, no one was hurt.

August has been a whirlwind month for me. I've visited new places, read new books, and did some wedding planning. Click here to read my month in review.

Next week, a post about Brussels will be coming your way. We only spent 24 hours in Brussels, but we covered a lot of ground. I can’t wait to return to spend more time there! Also, Belgium Waffles in Belgium is basically the greatest thing ever.

I couldn’t decide what my favorite moments of the trip were. I managed to narrow it down to two:

First, the Warner Bro’s The Making of Harry Potter studio tour. As a lifelong Potterhead, this was a dream come true for me! I wrote a very long and detailed review of it if you want to check that out.

Second, basically the entire city of Amsterdam. The second I stepped foot off of the train from Brussels, I fell in love with Amsterdam. There wasn’t a single thing I didn’t love about it! It was so clean, positive, and beautiful. I hope to gather my thoughts soon so can write about it in more detail. But basically, I could easily spend all day there walking along the canals or sitting in a cafe reading a book. Speaking of reading books…


We Recommend Reading: Paris Is Always A Good Idea

What I’ve Read

August has been a whirlwind month for me. I've visited new places, read new books, and did some wedding planning. Click here to read my month in review.

First, I read Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone for the first time. Yes, you read that right. I’ve only ever read the Sorcerer’s Stone so I took the opportunity to pick up the Philosophers Stone whilst I was at King’s Cross visiting Platform 9 3/4 in London. I decided to buy the beautiful 20th Anniversary edition in the Ravenclaw house colors (since I am a Ravenclaw) and devoured it over the course of the two weeks. It was fun noticing the differences between the British and American versions, plus the extra content about Ravenclaw was amazing!

Obviously, I rated this one 5/5.

Next, I read The Diary of Anne Frank which I picked up at the Anne Frank House in Amsterdam. I read this book for the first time when I was very young, but was inspired to re-read it after walking through the Frank’s hiding place. I’m going to get more into that experience when I write my Amsterdam posts but it was a very sombering experience.

I rated this 5/5

Now, I’m currently reading two books. The first one is Quiet: The Power of Introverts by Susan Cain. I’m a very introverted person so I think that it’s going to be quite interesting to learn more about introversion! I’m only a couple chapters in so far but I’m enjoying it. The second book I’m reading is Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I thought I would re-read the entire Harry Potter series (again, for literally the 100th time) since it’s been a couple years since I’ve done so. And obviously, I’m very much enjoying it.

The last couple months, I’ve been in a bit of reading slump so I’m very proud of myself for reading some books this month!


Life Musings

While we were in Paris, we got our engagement photos taken! Chris’s sister, Jenna, is a talented photographer and was awesome enough to take our engagement photos. Check out her website here. Here are a couple of my favorites.

Speaking of engagement photos, we might as well talk about how the wedding planning is going!
I found my DREAM wedding dress!!! It’s GORGEOUS. I wish I could show you the photos but my fiance is not allowed to see it until our wedding day lol. It was the very first dress I saw and the second dress I tried on on the very first day of wedding dress shopping! That seems so crazy to me but I’m really good at knowing what I want.  I want to give a million and one thanks to my mom for buying me my dream wedding dress. I’m so thankful to her <3. I kind of went over the top with the accessories (a suuuuuper long veil and a very intricate tiara) but I wanted to feel like a princess on my wedding day so it’s well worth it.

Wedding planning itself has been going great. We booked our venue! It’s this super cute art museum in Downtown Sioux Falls and it’s exactly the aesthetic I want. We’ve also found our photographer and videographer! We booked them as a package through Complete Weddings + Events, along with a photo booth and a DJ since it was such a great deal! We’re not getting married for over a year still but we’ve already gotten so much done!

The next thing on my wedding to do list is to officially ask my wedding party, book a caterer, and find a florist!

After that, I’ll move on to finding a cake, the bridesmaid dresses, designing the invitations, and gathering the decorations. I’m DIY-ing this wedding as much as possible because I have a very specific image in my head and don’t trust anyone else to create it for me lol. I promise I’m not being a Bridezilla lol, but like I said earlier, I’m really good at knowing what I want.

If you’re into wedding planning as much as I am, you’re going to enjoy all of the monthly wrap ups from now until October 2018 lol. If not, I’m really sorry.

So that was my month in review for August! September will be a much slower month for me, travel wise, but I’m sure it’ll still be a great month and I can’t wait to write about it. Let me know how August went for you in the comments, I’d love to know!

Like This Post? Pin It!

Get a free $35 Airbnb credit!

Click here to get a free $35 Airbnb credit!


Read Next: 24 Hours In Brussels, Belgium

Follow:

Don't forget to follow us on Bloglovin'!

Follow

Share:
This is not a sponsored post. However, there may be affiliate links. If you choose to purchase items through these links, we will earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. These commissions help reduce the costs of running this site. Thanks!

9 Comments

  1. September 21, 2017 / 7:30 am

    WOAH you’ve had such an insane August! Congrats on your wedding dress and I love your thoughts on Amsterdam!

  2. September 21, 2017 / 7:46 am

    Lovely post! Your engagement photos are beautiful, and I’m so happy for you that you found your perfect wedding dress. Also a Potterhead, so I was really excited about Harry Potter Studios in London! I went twice:) Thanks for sharing!

  3. September 21, 2017 / 1:13 pm

    Great post – I love seeing what everyone has got up to! I started re-reading the Harry Potter books this month too – there’s something about this time of year that makes me want to snuggle up with a good book and those are some of my faves! Good luck with the wedding planning 🙂

  4. Christine
    September 21, 2017 / 8:32 pm

    Wow! You were busy in the month of August. I love Paris. It’s been a couple of years since I’ve been there, but need to go back soon.

  5. September 22, 2017 / 4:22 am

    A wrap up post is a great idea! My daughter is getting married on 8 October 2017 so we are into the last two weeks and it’s so exciting. Hope your planning goes well 🙂

  6. September 22, 2017 / 6:03 am

    I loved to read the details of your wedding preparation! Reminds me of mine last year! Good luck with it!

  7. Aditi
    September 22, 2017 / 11:02 am

    Wow.. Jenna is really talented. Congrats on the engagement. Moreover, I love all the pictures you click too. Looking forward to your September review. Cheers!!

  8. Julie
    September 22, 2017 / 3:06 pm

    I love the idea of a wrap up post for the month. Congratulations on your engagement – the photos look lovely. I also didn’t know there were different Harry Potter versions (Philosopher’s Stone vs Sorcerer’s Stone). Very cool, though.

  9. September 22, 2017 / 3:50 pm

    This is so great, I’m so happy to hear about your wedding plans guys. your couple is so adorable I can’t wait to see your fabulous wedding dress. keep the love on fire 🙂

Leave a Reply